Connexion Agenda

Recherche > Thèmes, Actions et Projets

VOLES ‒ Is rodenticide use disrupting the natural autoregulation of vole populations?

Achevé : 17/11/2014 → 16/11/2017


Projet Marie Curie - H2020

Dispositifs labellisés :

  • ZAAJ
Humans modify ecosystems to maximise benefits from natural resources and as a result wildlife adapts ecological relationships. For instance, voles show multiannual population cycles and predators respond numerically, possibly limiting vole populations. Voles also damage crops and reduce food available for livestock. Subsequently, farmers respond using anticoagulant rodenticides (ARs) to control voles. That means indirect control of predators by secondary exposure or by reduction of food sources. Therefore, ARs will be acting analogously as a superpredator, impeding the natural autoregulation of vole populations. By combining multidisciplinary and intersectoral knowledge, the project will address the deleterious effect of pest control by poisoning ecosystems. In addition, it will show predation as one underestimated tool for pest control. By direct contact with interested parties, the Experienced Researcher will become fully involved with groups related to the hunting industry, among others, which will enable him to develop consultancy services about small mammal pests and control methods. He will also boost his research carrier and become a senior post-doc dealing with strongly applied issues of ecology and ecotoxicology with strong links between international research institutions, maximising the chances to get a permanent position.


Collaborateurs :

Fédération des chasseurs du Doubs

FREDON de Franche-Comté

LAMBIN Xavier - Aberdeen University, UK

Zones géographiques des recherches :

Synthèse internationale
Synthèse nationale
Pays ou région
Sudan South Sudan Georgia Abkhazia South Ossetia Peru Burkina Faso France Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Bourgogne-Franche-Comté Bretagne Centre-Val de Loire Corse Grand Est Haut-de-France Île-de-France Normandie Nouvelle-Aquitaine Occitanie Pays de la Loire Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Guadeloupe Martinique La Réunion Mayotte Guyane Libya Belarus Pakistan Azad Kashmir Indonesia Yemen Madagascar Bolivia, Plurinational State of Serbia Kosovo Cote d'Ivoire Algeria Switzerland Cameroon Macedonia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Botswana Kenya Jordan Mexico United Arab Emirates Belize Brazil Sierra Leone Mali Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Italy Somalia Somaliland Afghanistan Bangladesh Dominican Republic Guinea-Bissau Ghana Austria Sweden Turkey Uganda Mozambique New Zealand Cuba Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Portugal Colombia Mauritania Angola Germany Thailand Australia Papua New Guinea Iraq Croatia Greenland Niger Denmark Latvia Romania Zambia Myanmar Ethiopia Guatemala Suriname Czech Republic Chad Albania Finland Syrian Arab Republic Kyrgyzstan Solomon Islands Oman Panama Argentina United Kingdom Costa Rica Paraguay Guinea Ireland Nigeria Tunisia Poland Namibia South Africa Egypt Tanzania, United Republic of Saudi Arabia Viet Nam Russian Federation Crimea Haiti Bosnia and Herzegovina India China Hong Kong Macao Taiwan Canada El Salvador Guyana Belgium Equatorial Guinea Lesotho Bulgaria Burundi Djibouti Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh Iran, Islamic Republic of Malaysia Philippines Uruguay Congo Montenegro Estonia Rwanda Armenia Senegal Togo Spain Gabon Hungary Malawi Tajikistan Cambodia Korea, Republic of Honduras Iceland Nicaragua Chile Morocco Western Sahara Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (Free Zone) Liberia Netherlands Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Central African Republic Slovakia Lithuania Zimbabwe Sri Lanka Israel Gaza Strip (State of Palestine) West Bank (State of Palestine) Lao People's Democratic Republic Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Greece Turkmenistan Ecuador Benin Slovenia Norway Moldova, Republic of Transnistria Ukraine Donetsk People's Republic Luhansk People's Republic Lebanon Nepal Eritrea United States