Connection Calendar

Research > Actions & Projects

NETFIB ‒ Valorization of fibres from nettle grown on marginal lands in an agro-forestry cropping system

Finished: 01-01-2019 → 31-12-2023


Project H2020 / MSCA / RISE

The NETFIB project (Valorisation of nettle fiber grown on marginal lands in an agro-forestry system) coordinated by the Chrono-Environment Laboratory of Bourgogne Franche-Comté aims to develop the production of nettle in agro-forestry system on marginalized land, to feed a sector in plain expansion, without accentuating the pressure on agricultural land. The implementation of field trials will be done on 4 industrial sites, made available by the industrial partner INOVYN in France (St Symphorien sur Saone), Belgium (Jemeppe), Italy (Tavazzano) and Germany (Rheinberg). The productivity of nettle in agro-forestry system will be studied by the French (LCE & LIEC), Italian (UCSC) and Austrian (BOKU) partners. The quality and mechanical properties of the fibers produced will be studied by the French (FEMTO-ST) and German (ATB & HSB) partners. Finally, the study of the economic and social impacts, as well as the potential impacts on the environment will be coordinated by the English partner (R3 Environment). NETFIB is therefore decidedly multi-disciplinary, combining material, environmental and human sciences.

Holder: CHALOT Michel

Research locations:

International synthesis
National synthesis
Sudan South Sudan Georgia Abkhazia South Ossetia Peru Burkina Faso France Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Bourgogne-Franche-Comté Bretagne Centre-Val de Loire Corse Grand Est Haut-de-France Île-de-France Normandie Nouvelle-Aquitaine Occitanie Pays de la Loire Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Guadeloupe Martinique La Réunion Mayotte Guyane Libya Belarus Pakistan Azad Kashmir Indonesia Yemen Madagascar Bolivia, Plurinational State of Serbia Kosovo Cote d'Ivoire Algeria Switzerland Cameroon Macedonia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Botswana Kenya Jordan Mexico United Arab Emirates Belize Brazil Sierra Leone Mali Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Italy Somalia Somaliland Afghanistan Bangladesh Dominican Republic Guinea-Bissau Ghana Austria Sweden Turkey Uganda Mozambique New Zealand Cuba Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Portugal Colombia Mauritania Angola Germany Thailand Australia Papua New Guinea Iraq Croatia Greenland Niger Denmark Latvia Romania Zambia Myanmar Ethiopia Guatemala Suriname Czech Republic Chad Albania Finland Syrian Arab Republic Kyrgyzstan Solomon Islands Oman Panama Argentina United Kingdom Costa Rica Paraguay Guinea Ireland Nigeria Tunisia Poland Namibia South Africa Egypt Tanzania, United Republic of Saudi Arabia Viet Nam Russian Federation Crimea Haiti Bosnia and Herzegovina India China Hong Kong Macao Taiwan Canada El Salvador Guyana Belgium Equatorial Guinea Lesotho Bulgaria Burundi Djibouti Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh Iran, Islamic Republic of Malaysia Philippines Uruguay Congo Montenegro Estonia Rwanda Armenia Senegal Togo Spain Gabon Hungary Malawi Tajikistan Cambodia Korea, Republic of Honduras Iceland Nicaragua Chile Morocco Western Sahara Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (Free Zone) Liberia Netherlands Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Central African Republic Slovakia Lithuania Zimbabwe Sri Lanka Israel Gaza Strip (State of Palestine) West Bank (State of Palestine) Lao People's Democratic Republic Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Greece Turkmenistan Ecuador Benin Slovenia Norway Moldova, Republic of Transnistria Ukraine Donetsk People's Republic Luhansk People's Republic Lebanon Nepal Eritrea United States