Connection Calendar

Research > Actions & Projects

ECOPOLIS ‒ Converting an urban wasteland into a sustainable and educational living-lab, based on a replicable phytomanagement approach

In progress: 01-12-2020 → 31-05-2024


Project ANR

Labelled programs:

  • Pôle AXELERA
The general objective of the ECOPOLIS project led by the Chrono-environnement Laboratory of Bourgogne Franche-Comté is to restore an industrial wasteland in an urban environment. It involves the entire community (site managers, practitioners and academics, urban and regional decision-makers, civil society) and it is based on the establishment of a living lab with a research and educational vocation. We hypothesize that the establishment of this living lab will help develop the acculturation of local actors and the population to the environment and environmental risks, and can serve as a model for the dissemination of phytomanagement methods throughout the Nord-Franche Comté territory and more generally in areas undergoing industrial restructuring. The research fields taken into account in ECOPOLIS are agronomy and ecological sciences (through measurements of the impact of phytomanagement on biodiversity), engineering sciences (soil engineering, ecological engineering and processes through restoration works, environmental applications of the wireless sensor network).

Holder: CHALOT Michel


Agence de développement et Urbanisme de PMA




Research locations:

International synthesis
National synthesis
Sudan South Sudan Georgia Abkhazia South Ossetia Peru Burkina Faso France Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Bourgogne-Franche-Comté Bretagne Centre-Val de Loire Corse Grand Est Haut-de-France Île-de-France Normandie Nouvelle-Aquitaine Occitanie Pays de la Loire Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Guadeloupe Martinique La Réunion Mayotte Guyane Libya Belarus Pakistan Azad Kashmir Indonesia Yemen Madagascar Bolivia, Plurinational State of Serbia Kosovo Cote d'Ivoire Algeria Switzerland Cameroon Macedonia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Botswana Kenya Jordan Mexico United Arab Emirates Belize Brazil Sierra Leone Mali Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Italy Somalia Somaliland Afghanistan Bangladesh Dominican Republic Guinea-Bissau Ghana Austria Sweden Turkey Uganda Mozambique New Zealand Cuba Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Portugal Colombia Mauritania Angola Germany Thailand Australia Papua New Guinea Iraq Croatia Greenland Niger Denmark Latvia Romania Zambia Myanmar Ethiopia Guatemala Suriname Czech Republic Chad Albania Finland Syrian Arab Republic Kyrgyzstan Solomon Islands Oman Panama Argentina United Kingdom Costa Rica Paraguay Guinea Ireland Nigeria Tunisia Poland Namibia South Africa Egypt Tanzania, United Republic of Saudi Arabia Viet Nam Russian Federation Crimea Haiti Bosnia and Herzegovina India China Hong Kong Macao Taiwan Canada El Salvador Guyana Belgium Equatorial Guinea Lesotho Bulgaria Burundi Djibouti Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh Iran, Islamic Republic of Malaysia Philippines Uruguay Congo Montenegro Estonia Rwanda Armenia Senegal Togo Spain Gabon Hungary Malawi Tajikistan Cambodia Korea, Republic of Honduras Iceland Nicaragua Chile Morocco Western Sahara Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (Free Zone) Liberia Netherlands Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Central African Republic Slovakia Lithuania Zimbabwe Sri Lanka Israel Gaza Strip (State of Palestine) West Bank (State of Palestine) Lao People's Democratic Republic Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Greece Turkmenistan Ecuador Benin Slovenia Norway Moldova, Republic of Transnistria Ukraine Donetsk People's Republic Luhansk People's Republic Lebanon Nepal Eritrea United States